Getting ClickStart-ed: Taking the First Step to A Big Change

I’m writing this post to get this stuff off my chest, and also for some accountability.

The ClickStarter is the latest of the many blogs and websites that I publish. However in many ways, it is the 1st serious one. I’m banking on The ClickStarter network of sites to become my main income source in 1 year. So yes, it’s that serious.

I’ve got 3 main reasons for doing this:

1. Taking action

2 years ago, as I sat in the office after dark at 9pm at my full-time job in an interactive agency, I said to myself that there has to be a better way. At that point in my life, 12-14 hour days were pretty common, demanding clients were a given and job frustration was constant. Surely earning a living didn’t have to be so soul-sapping?

In the meantime, I aspired to live the dream of running a profitable online business. I wanted to be like Darren Rowse, Yaro Starak or Brian Clark and work from anywhere I wanted to, travel and do what I love. However it was all dreaming at the time, and deep down I wondered if that was ever possible.

Then for some fortunate reason, I got to know Reese Spykerman, a designer based in Kuala Lumpur running a small but very profitable business. She proved to me that I could escape the corporate world and still do the things I wanted to do. So I quit my job and I’m doing great running my own business right now.

Reese also introduced me to her client, Chris Guillebeau who was at the time a humble blogger making a name for himself. Chris was just a regular guy with a blog, which he has now turned into a thriving business. Watching his meteoric rise over the years further convinced me that I had the same opportunity as anyone else to make a name for myself on the web.

However, I was still merely dreaming of the possibilities. I then began learning and researching on what it takes to achieve online success. I learnt that having the knowledge wasn’t enough–I had to act on it. So I began to talk about it, and eventually wrote out the plans for my online business, and here I am with The ClickStarter and writing this post.

On a personal level, The ClickStarter is about me getting off my butt and actually doing it, rather than just thinking about it. I don’t know what’s up ahead and how it will turn out, but hey, I won’t be regretting that I didn’t give it a real shot.

2. Putting into practice

There are 2 types of people who make money on the web: the ethical ones and the unethical ones. I firmly identify with the ethical ones and believe that I can run a business online that provides real value and have customers that love me for it.

That’s pretty much the philosophy behind the Third Tribe community, which I’m a proud member of. I believe in giving before receiving. I believe in the importance of connection and community. I believe in working my butt off to create a great product, because my customers deserve it.

And since I’m a believer in the Third Tribe philosophy, I also tend to agree with their marketing strategies: content marketing, growing relationships, compelling copy and content.

Believing in the philosophy and marketing strategies won’t get me anything. The ClickStarter exists because this is where I’m going to put all of this into practice.

3. Building a platform for my products

I started The ClickStarter to make money online, as an ethical business. I’m hoping that you, dear reader, will someday become a customer.

But wait! Don’t leave just yet. I’m not going to bombard you with hard-sell. Like I said above, I believe in giving before receiving. I will be giving as much value as I can away for free. In fact, my first product that I’m working on right now is a free product.

The upcoming product is called WordPress Quickstart: Everything You Need to Know to Start a Website or Blog in Just 3 Days. It’s a step-by-step guide in plain English, produced for regular people (not rocket scientists). WordPress is an essential component for any online entrepreneurs and I will be producing more guides on using WordPress, social media and related topics to turbo-charge your online business.

Now it’s your turn

Do you want to use the web more effectively in your business? Or are you also dreaming of starting an online business? If so, what’s holding you back? Remember, you’ll never know how far you go until you take that first step.

Stop dreaming and at least start talking about it. Tell me what hurdles and challenges you face in the comments below.

Thanks for reading and I hope that you’ll visit again. Please consider subscribing to the RSS feed.

Leave a comment